Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

The Magic of Gratitude, Revisited

16 Comments

golden light

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.”
Melody Beattie

This is my favorite gratitude quote, so I’m sharing it again this year.  It originally came to me from Melody Beattie’s book, The Language of Letting Go, Daily Meditations on Codependency, in the meditation for August 1st.

Why August instead of November? Because we need the magic of gratitude every day.

She goes on to write:

“Gratitude makes things right. Gratitude turns negative energy into positive energy. There is no situation or circumstance so small or large that it is not susceptible to gratitude’s  power. We can start with who we are and what we have today, apply gratitude, then let it work it’s magic.”

Is it possible that something as simple as gratitude can be so powerful?

 I believe so.

After I stopped asking why I couldn’t couldn’t find the right partner,

After I started to thank God for blessings of the moment,

and the mystery blessings on the way,

My soulmate came to me

when the time was right.

Blessings live in this moment.

Blessings are on the way.

Give thanks!

Arboretum yellow flowers

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

16 thoughts on “The Magic of Gratitude, Revisited

  1. How totally true. A continuing experience of the opposite can be so devastating.

  2. It sure can, Garland. I don’t even want to think about ongoing whatever the opposite of gratitude is. I’m thankful that we have some control over our thoughts and attitudes, even though it can be hard sometimes.

  3. What a lovely post!!! 💖💖💖💖

  4. Thank you! I’m grateful you shared this with me! I really like the quote! Great Testimonial to the power of gratitude. We don’t stop enough to think how truly fortunate we are and how grateful we should be… Graet post!

    • I know I take a lot for granted. I was reminded recently that our poorest here in North America are wealthier than the vast majority of people in the world. Of course there are many ways to be poor and rich….there are is much to be thankful for.Thanks for visiting, and for following, Spartacus!

  5. This is beautiful, JoAnna. I give thanks for your presence in my world and wish you and yours a very Happy Thanksgiving. Love and hugs, Natalie 🙂 ❤

  6. “… then let it work its magic.” If you really do open yourself to gratitude at all levels of your life and in as consistently as possible, magic is almost an understatement! thanks for an inspiring post and happy Thanksgiving!

    • Wow! Thank you for this life changing message. Because I really could be more open at all levels and more consistent. As I open up more to gratitude, I can feel the energy growing and flowing! 🙂

  7. Bonjour mon ami(e)JOANNA
    Une petite voiture roule vers toi
    Pour t’apporter une grosse valise
    De tendresse et d’amitié
    Afin que tu puisses passer
    Une agréable journée dans la joie

    Et une très belle fin de semaine
    Une cascade de bisous

    Bernard

  8. Bless you dear JoAnna…beautiful!! Live in the peace of gratitude ♡♡

  9. I find it interesting the way particular feelings, such as gratitude, compel us to walk a path of other feelings and choices to realize their fullness. For instance, it is hard to place oneself in contact with gratitude, if one is angry… and so forgiveness is bound up in gratitude. As are trust, willingness, acceptance, and love. No matter where we enter the space where these feelings reside– feelings, for lack of a better term– they seem to flood us all together, to transform into one another almost. It is like good compounded upon good, and gratitude gets the ball rolling… Choosing gratitude is powerful for me because it is a choice to enter that place, and accept all that is given there… Like soulmates for instance…. 🙂

    Peace!
    Michael

  10. Truly powerful Joanna …thank you so much for sharing your beauty with encouragement and joy …love , megxxx

Feel free to comment!

