Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Too Responsible?

16 Comments

SOC badge with butterfly

I’ve complained a lot about being too busy. This past week I fixed it some. I had three things, really four things, to do in the evening this past week after work. So I just said no to one of them. My husband went without me, and he was fine with that. His mother was visiting from Connecticut and that was a nice treat for her, and for everyone else to meet her.

When I’m too busy, it’s okay to say no. I like having one thing to do in the evening per week, like Wednesday evening church potluck and choir practice. Choir practice energizes me, it feeds my soul to sing. I can handle two things after work, especially if they are not two nights in a row. Three is too many. Especially three in a row.

It’s possible to do three things in a row, three nights in a row, after working each day. But it’s not healthy for me. It doesn’t seem to bother my husband. But I need some down time. Actually, I need to do things like laundry, and reading and writing blogs. So I can say, I had to work, and I won’t be lying. I actually did have some work to catch up on for my paying job, the job that pays the bills for now, on the night I said no to going out.

During the month of December, I have a lot of vacation time to use from the job that pays my bills for now. If I don’t take some of it, I will lose it. We can carry over 18o hours to next year. I have more than that accrued, and I need to make sure I take it. It will give me more time for writing, art, reading blogs and puttering around the house. I have 400 hours of sick time built up at my job. I can carry  this over, but will never be paid for it if I don’t use it.

Do you think I’m too responsible?

I’ve very grateful for all that “sick time.” I really am. I wish I could give it to someone, but I can’t. I am grateful that I haven’t had to use it for something catastrophic. I wonder if it should be called something other than “sick time.” I guess that’s why some companies are going to “paid time off.”

I’m thankful to have holiday time, too! I get two days off for Thanksgiving, but I’m already off on Friday since I cut down to 30 hours a week. So I’ll have to figure that out.

Thank you to all those people who work on holidays. I wish you blessings and happiness, and peace, too!

Today’s Stream of Consciousness prompt was: “to/too/two.”

If you’d like to join in the Saturday SOC prompt and post, visit Linda’s blog:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/11/20/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-nov-2115/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

16 thoughts on “Too Responsible?

  1. Reblogged this on Loving Me, Too and commented:

    Still getting plenty of opportunities to practice setting boundaries….

  2. Absolutely, take all the vacation time you can. I’d even consider taking December off, if you have that much carryover you’ll lose.

  3. may you have a day
    or two
    off 🙂

  4. Enjoy your time off and Happy Thanksgiving.

  5. You should definitely take that time off and just do all the things that energize you and inspire you. I love singing too. My voice is terrible, but I don’t mind, it makes me feel good. 🙂

    • Yes! Keep singing. If it makes you feel good, that’s what matters. It’s one of the best gifts we can give ourselves, any time. I often find myself humming a little tune without even knowing I was doing it. 🙂

  6. I liked you write.:)

  7. I completely agree with you! I very much dislike doing things after work and I always feel so overwhelmed when things are planned. I used to love singing in the choir. You should definitely continue to do the things that feed your soul. It helps when you have to do all the other things in life. I hope you get a lot of rest in December and catch up on all the things you love. Thanks so much for taking part in SoCS. 🙂

Feel free to comment!

