Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Expectations of Joaquin

13 Comments


SOC badge with butterfly

I expected this to be  a busier than usual weekend. Right after the Blessing of the Animals on Saint Francis Sunday, I’d be flying to Indiana to see my grand kids. I’ll still be on that plane, and I’m so looking forward to it, because I don’t see my grand kids very often, being on the east coast, but the Blessing of the Animals was cancelled.

Friday, I called Father Macgill to discuss our plans, with Hurricane Joaquin building up energy, and some models coming  to the Carolinas. I shared with him my experience of cancelling events due to impending bad weather, and then having clear skies on the day of the event. He was gracious to let it be my call, so we decided to wait and see what path Joaquin would take.

The decision was made for us, because the county parks department, our venue, decided to close for the weekend. It now appears that Joaquin will be making a turn out toward sea. Sunday afternoon, Saint Francis Feast Day, could be beautiful. Anything is possible of course. At least now I won’t have to rush from the event to the airport. So that’s a good thing. And it’s a good thing if all we get is a lot of rain. Things are already pretty soggy in my neck of the woods.

I do want everyone to be safe. Still, I can’t help but observe that the TV news people get us all hyped up, or try to anyway, by just the tones in the voices of those reporting the forecasts, the predictions of where the storm might go. It could go anywhere! We better get our water, our batteries, our generators, canned goods, and eat all the ice cream in the freezer, pronto! I’ve done that in past hurricanes, but not until I was sure it was coming. I do keep a lot of candles in the house during hurricane season after being without electricity for over a week with Hurricane Fran or Floyd, or maybe it was Bertha, years ago.

My friend commented on Facebook that she and her daughter were having coffee and tea yesterday morning at a local diner and embracing the “pre-storm culture.” It’s good to be prepared for the worst, but to hope for the best. Our  focus needs to be on our hopes more than our fears.

Just remember if you approach what appears to be a deep puddle or flooded road: “Turn around. Don’t drown!”

Everybody stay safe out there!

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt from Linda Hill was: “expect/unexpected.”  If you’d like to join in the fun, visit:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/10/02/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-oct-315/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

13 thoughts on “Expectations of Joaquin

  1. The weatherpeople just get excited when there’s bad weather going on, because let’s face it, the weather can be really dull. “High pressure brings sunny skies and mild temperatures… ho hum…”

  2. Hope you get just the right amount of rain and not any more. And have a great trip!

  3. Enjoy your visit with your grandchildren! Hugs, N 🙂 ❤

  4. Thanks, Natalie! I plan to. 🙂 ❤

  5. Hope things are still safe where you are. The flooding in some areas of the Carolinas that we are seeing on television is frightening.

    • Yesterday was breezy and the sun came out. It’s raining again this morning, so I’ll be watching for flooding on my way to church. Thanks for your hope, Joanne.

Feel free to comment!

