Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Routes and Roots

26 Comments


SOC badge with butterfly

Is money the root of all evil?

Is there more than one route to God?

Maybe I’ll come back to the God question.

Thrift and consignment stores are popping up all over. My husband manages one for the Rescue Mission. They get more clothes and books donated than they can keep up with. More than they have room for. He’s found a way to re-donate the extras. They get a lot of food donated too. In the job he had before, he saw grocery stores throwing away so much food. It was astounding and sad. Fortunately some of the food gets donated to non-profit agencies……  I’m getting to the money and evil part, eventually, maybe.

So how can there be so many clothes donated? The books I understand, because people now use  computers and phones more to read. But people keep buying clothes. More and more clothes. I get most of my clothes from second hand stores. I get most of my furniture second hand, too. It’s mostly a recycling thing. And a little a frugal thing.

Are we buying more stuff than we need? And what else can we do with our money?  I don’t want to buy new wood furniture, because someone had to cut down a tree for that.

Yes, lets get back to the forest!

My roots are in nature.

I see God in nature. I connect with God in nature.

I also see God in Jesus. I connect with God through Jesus.

Some people connect with God through prayer and songs. These work for me too.

Some find God through service work, through various books, or religious leaders.

Some don’t find God at all.  Part of me says I’m supposed to write how sad that is.

But you know what? I don’t feel all that sad about it. We all have a choice. We all have value. Regardless of whether we have found God, or Jesus, or Muhammad. Whether we are rich or poor or smart with numbers, or computers or money or whether we know how to make sassafras tea out of tree roots. We all have value.

I used to say, I didn’t care about money. But I do sort of like having enough for my mortgage and vet bills and food and my second hand clothes and gasoline….. and I’d like to travel more…… I like the things money can buy.  Some of the things. But money can’t buy the sky.  Money can’t buy true love.

And as my husband says his grandfather used to say, ” You can’t eat it.”

The desire for things and money is part of the problem, part of what is putting our world at risk. But there is something more. A lack of peace. A lack of love. We need more tolerance and cooperation.

That’s all for now.  Except that I wish I’d  written more about roots.

Here’s a poem, containing roots, I memorized many years ago from the Lord of the Rings….or maybe it was The Hobbit. This is how I remember it:

All that is gold does not glitter.

Not all those who wander are lost.

The old that is strong does not whither.

Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken.

A light from the Shadows shall Spring.

Renewed shall be blade that was broken.

The crownless again shall be king.

JRR Tolkein

 

 

 

Today’s Stream of Consciousness post prompt was “route/root.”

If you’d like to jump into the stream, start here:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/09/18/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-sept-1915/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

26 thoughts on “Routes and Roots

  1. A great effort JoAnna; it was like having you addressing me over a cup of coffee. I have never risen to one of these challenges, though I can see how tricky they are. Well done! 🙂

  2. Thank you, Hariod. 🙂 The tricky part for me is not editing while realizing that people are going to read my thoughts. But I do enjoy it and look forward to it every week.

    • Yes, a bit like inviting people into our minds, which is scary indeed! Just a thought, but I only ever see your responses if I go to ‘comments I made’ in my dashboard – they never come up in the notifications area. Any ideas JoAnna?

      • Ah, I see now, it seems that you do not respond within a nest, which explains it.

        • Sorry. I don’t know what responding with a nest means. I’m guessing this has to do with my dashboard or admin page…. I just click on reply from the post. I hope that works well enough. I’m historically “low tech,” though I have learned a lot in the past few years.

      • Hmmm. I see them on the post…..

        • Dear JoAnna,

          To explain:

          You will see that your initial response to me on the 19th. at 2:24p.m. is not itself within a nest; it is an original [i.e. normally unrelated] comment.

          Nests are a series of indented, linked and related comments appearing beneath an original comment.

          That first response of yours, which is at the top of this nest, is left-justified, and is not a sub-comment i.e. a nested, indented comment.

          I will now respond to my initial comment creating a nest there to show how that displays in an indentation.

          Best wishes,

          Hariod.

  3. wonderful help
    that others
    find their way 🙂

  4. Thank you, David. You do this too. 🙂

  5. I love that poem. And I go along with your sentiments about money. It doesn’t buy happiness. But it can make a good downpayment. 😉

    • I memorized it many years ago. Not only because I loved it, but it is a nice length to memorize. Downpayment. 🙂 You always make me chuckle. Or at least smile.

  6. A light from the shadow shall spring. I liked seeing the video from the Lord of the Rings. I am glad there are programs now to salvage food from the grocery stores and restaurants. My daughter worked with an organization called Food Share that would deliver food to needy people.

  7. I believe there are many routes to the Divine/Love/Universe or whatever name one finds meaningful.

Feel free to comment!

