Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Nana Loves You

12 Comments

IMG_2469

I wasn’t sure about you at first

Wasn’t even sure

If we were related

Lies in my head

About the myth of the perfect family

Surrendered to beautiful

Exquisitely original

Outside the box truth.

 

When I held you on my lap

And fed you pureed apricots

And smelled your red hair,

It didn’t matter anymore

Whether you carried my genes.

 

And when I saw how carefully

Your not quite three year old hand

held the pen on the paper

to make intricate lines

almost like letters,

I knew who you were.

 

Now your quiet eyes haunt me

From so far away.

I long to sit with you

To read the storybooks

I’ve been saving for you,

To sing lullabies

And hear you call me

Nana.

 

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

12 thoughts on “Nana Loves You

  1. Love is utterly disinterested in genetics. 🙂

  2. So powerful…so full of love and longing, JoAnna….and by the way….I think JoAnna suits you ❤ ❤

  3. A beautiful reflection on the true power of the modern family, which I think is teaching us to break up the old rules about where and how love works… and belongs…

    Michael

  4. Yes, Michael. I’m being reminded that love belongs everywhere.

Feel free to comment!

