Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Stream of Consciousness to Charleston

6 Comments

socs-badge

Our Stream of Consciousness prompt for today is “bone.”

Lots of things pop into my head.

My husband calls his dogs “bone heads.” I don’t really like this, but I accept it, because I know it has something to do with not wanting to be so attached to them. Too late, he already is. He loves 14 year old Beep almost as much as he loves me. Almost. And I understand.

But I don’t want to write about dogs all the time.

I could write about the slight increase in my bone density since I finally, after two years, gave in to my doctor’s recommendation to take some kind of medication for my osteoporosis. Call it denial, but I don’t take it every single month, and I’m not going to do that yearly  IV thing, but even with taking it some months when I remember it, and have time to deal with the side effect of temporary body aches, which may or may not manifest, there has actually been a slight increase in my bone density since I started taking it.

But what is on my mind most today, that I can’t deny, is the bone chilling, sick in my stomach feeling I got when I learned about the horrible shooting, the massacre, in Charleston where nine human beings were murdered after the shooter sat with them for an hour during Bible study. Like most of people, I’m still processing this.

I’m reading about how the relatives of those murdered talked about forgiveness at the first hearing. I’m so amazed and grateful for their statements: “Alana Simmons, the grand daughter of victim the Rev. Daniel Simmons, 74, pleaded that the court ensure “hate won’t win.” “ I’m wondering why the next court date isn’t until October. I’m wondering why the father gave this 21 year old, who must have shown signs of not being right in the head, why his father gave him a HAND GUN for his birthday.

I don’t “watch” the news much, as many of you know, but this is different. I need to try to understand this thing that is not really understandable. I’ve seen some things questioning the issue of the shooter’s mental illness, whether that should be an issue at all. I remember when what’s his name (I’m not going to even look him up, so as not to give him attention) tried to kill President Regan. I remember something about “not guilty due to reason of insanity.” I don’t even remember if that was the verdict, but ever since then, I’ve been frustrated with that whole idea.

If some one did something, he or she is guilty. I think it should be changed to “guilty and insane.”  In my opinion, anyone who  kills innocent people at a church Bible study is insane. A diagnosis of insanity would not make him not guilty. He’s still guilty. Maybe, the insane part could influence the sentencing. I don’t know. But it should never let someone off the hook. And I’m a liberal! Most of the time….

Okay, I’m sorry for ranting a little. No I’m not. I’m grieving. Grieving about old bone head dogs, old bones in my body, and mostly about innocent people being killed at Bible study, in a city much like my own.

Charleston Massacre VictimsLearn more about these people here: http://edition.cnn.com/2015/06/18/us/charleston-church-shooting-victims/index.html?sr=cnnifb

 

To join Linda Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt and post, visit:

http://lindaghill.com/2015/06/19/the-friday-reminder-and-prompt-for-socs-june-2015/

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

6 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness to Charleston

  1. deep & varied offering!
    may your bones & heart
    experience strength & well-being 🙂

  2. Thank you, calming one. I appreciate your encouragement very much. I take it to my heart.

  3. I think getting a gun for a birthday gift relates to gun culture. I think the shooter was mentally ill. I hope there might come a day when people who are growing up with mental illness will receive the help and support they need so that there will not be all these tragedies. Or at least a lot less tragedies.

    • Thank you, Deborah, for bringing up a more compassionate and hopeful perspective to what I wrote. Compassion and hope usually come easily to me, but they are slow to emerge on this topic.

Feel free to comment!

