Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Global Warming and the Serenity Prayer

4 Comments

fan

The highs this week, in my neck of the woods, will be in the upper 90’s. Today, it might even reach 100 degrees. This is not unheard of here in the Carolinas, but we typically stay in the 80s for most of the summer.

When I was a kid, in the 1960’s, my family didn’t have AC. We did have window fans though. And Popsicles. And a freezer I’d stick my head in and inhale deeply. I have no idea whether this is hazardous though, so I’m not recommending it. We rolled down the car windows to get air, except when my parents bought that portable air conditioner unit that fit into the passenger window of the ’68 Chevy for the drive from the East Coast to Camp Pendleton, California. Somewhere in the desert, the chord wouldn’t pull. Dad reached over and gave it a yank, and the machine spit ice water all over Mom making her shriek. We went back to rolling down the windows after that.

For most of human existence, there was no electricity, no AC, not even electric fans.

How did people get by with no electricity, no window fans, no Popsicles, even?

Now, as I start to think outside my own little world, how do so many people living in hotter climates  today still get by without air conditioning?  Am I spoiled or fortunate?

I don’t have central air, but I do have ceiling fans and two window units in my modest abode which I resist turning on  until it’s in the 90s.

But sometimes, like this week, even our abundant shade trees can’t keep it cool enough to prevent the heat and humidity from growing mold on my old shoes in the closet. The window units are running a lot more this week, not really for the shoes, but for the dogs.

When I think about the Serenity Prayer, which I wrote about last week, I usually include “The Weather” on my list of things I cannot change.  But what if we did this? What if this is global warming? Can we change it?

(I look forward to hearing what Pope Francis has to say about this later in the week.)

Most big changes take a long time. There are those things that maybe we can change, over time, with organization, like laws and injustice. We have to decide where to put our energy.

People changed the status of slavery so that it’s no longer legal in the US.  Once upon a time, women, and African Americans did not have the right to vote in my country. But brave women and men worked hard to change that one step at a time.

Can we change the weather?

I don’t know. But we can do our part to change our habits, and maybe that will, at least, slow down the destruction of our planet. At best, we can, help our lovely planet heal, one step at a time.

I’m partial to this list of 10 things we can do from “Flood London” http://www.floodlondon.com/global-warming/

Let us not take the earth for granted.

Today, let us have the courage to reduce our carbon footprints.

Let us express gratitude for the earth

…and for things like air conditioning, clean water, and Popsicles.

Earth, The Blue Marble

“The Blue Marble”. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

This post was inspired by the prompt, humidity, a few weeks ago by Andi Floyd-Cumbo, leader of the Online Writing Community via Andilit, and topped off with my series on the Serenity Prayer.

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

4 thoughts on “Global Warming and the Serenity Prayer

  1. Thanks for the re-blog!

  2. Humans have changed the climate, which in turn means changes in the weather. Heat does kill and did for millennia before we had cooling technology and still does in heat waves and droughts around the world. Thank you so much for your call to reduce our carbon footprints. We can’t reverse the damage we have already done, but we can slow the continuing damage, and, I hope, arrest it before we reach some of the nastier tipping points. With you and millions of others, I am also looking forward to Pope Francis’s encyclical. I’m sure it will articulate a moral imperative to care for the environment and for all our neighbors throughout the world.

    • Thank you for recognizing and affirming the importance of this challenge. It is heartening that Pope Francis, in his position of respect and potential influence, takes this seriously too.

Feel free to comment!

