Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Name Changers

12 Comments

socs-badge

Badge by: Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

Anything is possible with Stream of Consciousness writing.

When I read the prompt, “name,” I recalled a Facebook post on my son’s time line about somebody using somebody’s government name.  It was funny, yet disturbing, that in some subcultures, using someone’s government name is a faux pas.

My son, who is 29, changed his name a several years ago. Except he didn’t change it legally. He just goes by a different name. Except when he does his taxes or gets a pay check, then he uses his government name. He’s so outside the box. I like to think that he’s just asserting his independence.

Isn’t there some culture where it’s the norm for people to pick a new name when they get to be adults? Doesn’t that make some sense, to add a name of your choice?

When I was a kid, I didn’t like my name, or my red hair, which isn’t so red anymore. I didn’t like being called “carrot top.” I wanted a name like “Kathy,” not a name with a boy’s name in front. But later, much later, I kinda liked my mom using the familiar “Jo.” She’s gone now, and no one else calls me “Jo.” Well, maybe now and then my dad calls me “Jo.” When he’s gone, no one else will call me Jo. Sheesh, I didn’t know I was going to go there.

Now I think my name is okay, but I would rather be JoAnna than JoAnne.  A tiny change really. Sometimes I use JoAnna just for fun.

It’s great that we can create our own names on blogs, or for other on line identities. Or is it? Sometimes I wish I’d been more anonymous here on WordPress, then I could write all kinds of crazy stuff and no one would know it was me, unless I was too honest. That’s been known to happen. Maybe when I retire…. Anything’s possible.

 

This week’s Stream of Consciousness Post was: “name.” And the instructions to “Do with it whatever comes to mind! Enjoy!

To join in the fun, visit:

The Friday Reminder and Prompt for SoCS May 9/15

Here are the rules:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” or “Begin with the word ‘The’.”

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments, for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. Have fun!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

12 thoughts on “Name Changers

  1. Makes one think. I didn’t like my name either when I was young but never even knew I could change it. Well, we couldn’t back then. Naturally I’m curious as to what your son’s name was and what it is now just to hear the difference but obviously you wouldn’t want to post that here. Great post.

    • Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Laura. He did say he doesn’t like his given name partly because of memories of being picked on as an outside the box kid. His given name is biblical, old testament and his great grandfather’s name. The name he has chosen to use is more earthy, Celtic and lyrical.

  2. I like the idea of a “government name” and a name you’ve chosen for yourself. There’s a certain sense of freedom with that. It can also protect someone from identity theft.

  3. Yeah, it does appeal to the side of me that likes privacy…..and freedom.

  4. I love this post. I live, most of the time, under a created name that incorporates part of the one I was given at birth (I loved my name, growing up, but I needed to claim my own identity, my intention to separate myself from a cycle of abuse and dysfunctional family dynamics and attitudes, and shifting my name is a profound way of reminding myself of my purpose, every time I use it….more than that, I feel embraced and whole with this name in a way I never did with the one on my birth certificate.

    One day, I will legally change it.

    My son has an Old Testament bible name. He’s 13.5, now, and enjoys his more unique than most name. Of course, he’s homeschooled, so he doesn’t run into kids teasing him about it, either, and he often uses a declension of it on social media, and as a nickname.

    Last thing – my Accomplice has a sister named Joanne.

  5. Very good reasons to change a name! Your story helps me accept and appreciate even more my son’s decision to use a different name than the one I gave him. Thank you very much for sharing this, Shanjeniah! I feel excited about your plans to change your name legally, but what’s most important is what we call ourselves and how we think of ourselves.

  6. Of course, we share a first name, with a slightly different spelling. I nearly always go by Joanne, but a few people call me Jo or Joanie. Maybe sometimes I will surprise you by calling you JoAnna!

    I changed my government name about ten years after B and I married. I had tried to use Joanne Corey B. (using the initial rather than my husband’s surname here) with Corey always written out, but lots of places kept using only a middle initial, which I disliked as I was trying to keep Corey as part of my name. I also never got used to being called Mrs. B.; I was always looking about for my mother-in-law! A friend had recently officially changed her name back to her birth name and I decided to do the same. The people at the Social Security office thought it was weird that I was going back to my original name without getting divorced, but once I got that changed, it was relatively easy to change the rest. Of course, this was before all the changes that happened with security after 9/11/01; I expect it would be more difficult now. At any rate, the joke became that for our tenth anniversary, I gave my husband his name back!

    • Good for you for doing it your way! I would have kept the last name I grew up with, but people tended to mispronounce it, and I like the sound of my husband’s last name. I still don’t like getting mail for Mrs. (Man’s name). That always irked me.

  7. I love your name…and I got a giggle imagining a little “carrot top” running around…and her Momma calling her “Jo!” Much love to you my friend ❤

  8. Thanks for putting such a positive spin on that Lorrie. I’m glad it made you giggle 🙂 I’ve always liked the name Lorrie. It’s musical.

Feel free to comment!

