Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

To My Wayward Children

8 Comments

Rising pair

Fiercely agnostic in my twenties,
Haunted by dreams of abduction
By conservative Christians,
I’d pretend to play along
Whilst planning my escape.
They could not brainwash me!

As the years passed,
I met the Good Shepherd,
Saint Francis of Assisi,
Hildegarde of Bingen,
Teresa of Avila…

And I learned that all Christians aren’t the same
Some have minds
Gently open
Curiously listening
Loving without an agenda.

And all Buddhists aren’t the same
And all Muslims aren’t the same.
And all Pagans aren’t the same

I see the rebellious pathways
In my twenty something offspring,
Understanding, now
The fear of my mother,
The faith of my father.

I want to be a bridge.
Not a barrier.
I want you to know,
My indigo children:

I believe the Creator
Planted miracles
In this paradise planet,
Medicine in the plants,
Life in the water,
Magic in the rocks.

And all is a gift
From the Creator,
Who you may call
God
Goddess
Great Spirit
Mother
Father
Source

We may not agree, exactly
But we are more alike than different.

And I will love you forever.

 

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

8 thoughts on “To My Wayward Children

  1. “I want to be a bridge, not a barrier” is such an insightful and evocative expression. I feel like I followed you on your spiritual journey and you reframed the experience in such a wholehearted and altruistic manner. Gratitude and blessings, Harlon

    • Thank you so much, Harlon. You picked up on an important theme for me, that of being a bridge. It feels good to be understood in this journey.

  2. How very sweet and loving, JoAnne. 🙂 ❤

  3. Thank you, Natalie. It’s not always easy, but that is my goal. 😉 ❤

  4. This was gentle yet powerful. I like how you want to be a bridge. Open heart and an open mind seem achievable until we actually start.

    • Thank you, Prajakta. Gentle yet powerful is what I hope for without realizing it in those words. And, yes, being open is not always easy.

  5. This bring so much to mind for me, such as the recent interspirituality conference I attended and being the mom to twenty-something children. Thank you.

  6. I enjoyed reading about your experiences of that conference, Joanne. Glad you can relate!

Feel free to comment!

