Anything is Possible!

With Love, Hope, and Perseverance

Tree Hugger’s Dilemma

7 Comments

tree sycamore thru leaves

I was moved close to tears by Trini’s post about a child’s feelings for trees and fairies:

https://pathsofthespirit.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/from-the-eye-of-a-rainbow-childs-mind-8/comment-page-1/#comment-14429

It felt good to know I’m not alone in my love for trees.

I have more trees in my yard than anyone in my neighborhood. My neighbors may think I’m crazy, or at least eccentric, for having so many trees in such a small front yard in the city. I like the natural look. Parts of my back yard look like a jungle. This is all because I hate to cut down trees. I relocate seedlings that are in the way. I put some in pots to give to friends. I’ve even replanted some in uninhabited edges of wooded areas.

The ivy I planted in my shady front yard is taking over, and that’s okay. It’s nice not to have to mow a front lawn. When I find the time, I enjoy trimming the ivy to create little paths.

IMG_1625The problem is, my space is limited, and there are all these little oak trees growing among the ivy. Maybe 20 or 30 if I really counted them. The front IMG_1623yard is about 25 x 50 feet at most, and already contains two dogwoods, a mimosa, and a cedar who’s roots eventually find their way into the plumbing system. The mother oak and another cedar stand out by the street along with a crepe myrtle.

Sometimes I set my jaw firmly, and pull up some of the little oaks and tear them up quickly, or I snip off the tops.  I meant to do more of this in the winter, when I hope they’re sleeping, but it’s been hard to keep up with them all.  And I don’t want to do it.

I feel bad pulling up the seedlings. But I can’t let a bunch of oak trees grow up in my little front yard.

I tell myself that seedlings are mowed over all the time. I imagine that in the forest, trees compete for light and space, and all of them cannot live. Right?

I’m hoping for a compassionate answer.

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Jesus follower, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again as well as the short version: From Loneliness to Love.

7 thoughts on “Tree Hugger’s Dilemma

  1. Yes, it’s true that very few acorns get to grow into large oak trees. In the forest, they would get eaten as shoots by deer or other animals. They would get too shaded or crowded out by other plants. The indigenous peoples used to manage plots of the forest for different purposes, so you are part of a millennia-old tradition of helping some plants to thrive by controlling others that would compete for space and nutrients.

  2. I enjoyed the post and the blog! Thanks, JC!

Feel free to comment!