Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

The Trial and the Crucifixion

4 Comments

This week, I’m revisiting the movie, Jesus Christ Superstar, a journey which started   here.

Today is the most difficult part of the journey for me. Though Jesus and his friends suffered the most, it appears to have also been difficult for Pilate’s wife. It’s interesting to note her expression, assuming she is the woman standing behind and to the left of Pilate in the trial scene below. Consider this brief mention in Matthew 27:19:

While he (Pilate) was sitting on the judgment seat, his wife sent word to him, “Have nothing to do with that innocent man, for today I have suffered a great deal because of a dream about him.”

I wonder about this woman and her dream. Was she a supporter of Jesus? There is much speculation about Pontius Pilate’s wife.

 

 

As this is “Good Friday”, (Holy Friday still makes more sense to me) I felt compelled to include a crucifixion scene. The scene from Jesus Christ Superstar doesn’t quite work for me. So I looked for something including Mary, the Mother if Jesus, in addition to Mary Magdalene. I must have remembered the following scene from The Passion of the Christ. It’s a powerful movie and much more  realistic than Superstar.

WARNING: The following scene is very hard to watch. It made me sob, again. You are under NO obligation to watch it, of course, and might not want to. Trust your own good judgement on whether to watch it or not.

So why did I watch it? Initially out of curiosity. I watched it again, knowing it would be hard, maybe because I wanted to know what a real crucifixion would be like. I find value in that awareness.

If you are able, here is the scene from The Passion of the Christ:

It’s hard to imagine it possible for any man (or woman) to survive so long under these conditions, especially after being severely flogged, but then Jesus was not just any man.

May the peace of God, which passes all understanding, comfort us all.

May we rejoice in knowing that this is not the end of the story.

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

4 thoughts on “The Trial and the Crucifixion

  1. That was such a difficult movie to watch, but also very helpful in order to truly grasp what He did for us.

  2. Yes. That’s a good way to put it.

Feel free to comment!

