Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Jesus, Judas, and the Deeper Story

2 Comments

This week, I’m revisiting the movie, Jesus Christ Superstar.  You can read more about the film and the role it played in my life here.

As I experience these scenes thirty of so years later, I understand more. I understand some of the struggle Judas must have felt, so well depicted in the performance of Carl Anderson. I also appreciate the modern day instruments of war framing the dream scene:

 

Today, the last supper scene sharpens my awareness of the self- righteous complacency we can fall into with, “Always hoped that I’d be an apostle…”

But Jesus brings us back to a complicated reality. He knows the deeper story as he orders Judas to go and betray him. We see some of Jesus’ human side and feel the turmoil, and the love, between Judas and Jesus.

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “Jesus, Judas, and the Deeper Story

  1. Thank you for sharing these. My knowledge about Christianity is limited by what I have read in general knowledge books and err.. Dan Brown. You bring a thoughtful touch 🙂

  2. Thank you for reading! I’m reminded there are many different faces of Christianity, though the hearts and bodies are more alike than different. I believe this is true of all religions. Maybe true of people in general. Physically, we all have one heart, one brain, we all thirst and we all hunger………

Feel free to comment!

