Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Who Wants To Go To Mars?

16 Comments

mars_nasa1

A few days ago, I listened to a story on NPR about people seriously working on going to Mars.

The thought of going to Mars appeals to my sci fi side, that Star Trek generated notion of exploring and going boldly. But this NPR story feels closer to home and more like science fact.

One apparent fact is that the founder of Space X,ย  Elon Musk, “… developed spacecraft for one-tenth the cost and one-third the time that NASA and the aerospace major companies have done.”

One-tenth the cost and one-third the time! How’d he do that?

I wouldn’t be a bit surprised if it had something to do with NASA and those other companies being slowed down by bureaucracy. But I better not get started on that tangent. I might rant.

From a romantic, Trekker, point of view, I find the idea of going to Mars, fascinating.

But mars, as described here, is a cold, dusty planet, exposed to the hazards of radiation due to lack of a protective atmosphere. Yet “NASA is now planning for a manned mission to Mars, which is slated for the 2030s.”

All things considered, I must honor theย  fact that I am deeply in love the planet Earth. I wonder ifย  we should be focusing our time and energy on making our home planet more livable and sustainable instead of gallivanting around the solar system.

Besides, I get motion sickness if I read more than one sentence while riding in the car. So I think I’ll pass for now. But who knows, maybe someday, I’ll change my mind.

Do you think we should go to Mars?

Or should we stay home and clean up our own planet?

Earth, The Blue Marble

“The Blue Marble”. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons – http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:The_Blue_Marble.jpg#/media/File:The_Blue_Marble.jpg

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

16 thoughts on “Who Wants To Go To Mars?

  1. I love adventure…and crazy rides…but I think I will stay on Earth!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This is interesting because I’d spent a month and a half on this theme for an installation on my blog. I don’t know if I can even answer the question because first I think there needs to be more work done here to clean up first our hearts and then our minds and then the junk that we’ve tossed into the oceans. Thanks again for a lovely read.

    • Good point about our hearts and minds. That’s where it all begins, and there is much we humans can clean up about ourselves.

      • Thank you for writing this in exactly that way. Some of us illustrate the point with examples, and others just cut to the chase. It’s good knowing someone who’s on the same page with this idea.

  3. i’m content
    realizing
    there’s not
    a seat for me ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. ๐Ÿ™‚ Contentment is a good thing. We can watch contentedly from a distance.

  5. No thank you, that’s nothing for me, but I’m happy that there are people out there they would like to do it.

    • Yes, I’m happy there are those who want to go too. Come to think of it, there are still plenty of places I’d like to explore on this planet. Thanks for stopping by, Cecilia ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I was intrigued by your comment about the company Space X and their rapid development as compared to NASA and others. Tidbits like that always make me wonder: how much of what they accomplished leveraged the hard work of so many who came before them?

    I’m with you on putting a little attention into our own planet, but I also think there is something of the spirit of adventure that is important to our having lasting success. Wherever we choose to be.

    Michael

    • Your point is well taken about the hard work of others. I’m sure that was, and will continue to be, a contributing factor. The bureaucracy thing is my issue. As for the spirit of adventure, I don’t even want to think of where we’d be without that. I appreciate your thoughtful comments, Michael.

  7. I think it is very interesting to be able to explore other planets. That said I think there will be no return trip? I had read the first ones to go there will have to stay there. There is no oxygen or atmosphere on Mars. So you would be dependent on some kind of enclosed environment to breath. Those thoughts about no return and no oxygen make me very apprehensive about going there.

  8. I agree, it is interesting…. and intriguing to imagine. Makes me appreciate Earth even more. And those people who really do plan to go.

Feel free to comment!

