Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Goodbye, Mr. Spock. I will remember.

17 Comments

“I’m touched by the idea that when we do things that are useful and helpful – collecting these shards of spirituality – that we may be helping to bring about a healing.”
Leonard Nimoy
______________________________________________________________________

Leonard Nimoy, one of the most influential people of my adolescence, died on Friday, February 27th.  In his role as First Officer Spock, he brought logic, science, consistency and peace to my life when I needed it most.

The year I went to fifth grade, with my father in Vietnam and my mother having nervous breakdowns, I lived in Philadelphia, Michigan and New York. We spent that summer in Virginia. It was also the year I officially entered puberty, and thankfully, the year I discovered the original Star Trek. I didn’t miss an episode if I could help it.

Spock was my first crush. He was tall and handsome, steady and reliable. He taught me the value of logic and science. He brought stability into my chaotic life.

Spock was also a man of good conscience. In this article, which tells of Mr. Nimoy’s many accomplishments and talents, Gene Roddenberry was quoted to describe Spock as  “the conscience of Star Trek.”

Spock plays a crucial role in the episode below which greatly impacted (or reinforced) my thinking about the possibility of non-human life forms having sentience and value. In “The Devil in the Dark,” Dr. McCoy says:

“Silicon based life is physiologically impossible, especially in an oxygen atmosphere.”

But Spock proves that it is quite possible.

By mind-melding with the silicon “monster,” Spock learns that she is just a wounded mother trying to protect her children.

 

Spock taught us to look deeper and have compassion for all life forms. He was a scientist and an environmentalist. (Perhaps that’s why he had green blood. 😉 Sorry, I couldn’t resist.)

I will always remember, with gratitude, the lessons of Mr. Spock conveyed so well by Leonard Nimoy.

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

17 thoughts on “Goodbye, Mr. Spock. I will remember.

  1. This is an incredibly beautiful, passionate tribute to an icon of our time! It is obvious the love and respect you have…thanks for sharing ❤

    • It’s rare for me to have this kind of love and respect for someone I’ve never met, but he had such a profound healing effect on my life, I had to share this. Thanks for understanding, Lorrie.

  2. What a wonderful tribute! I’ve no doubt Mr. Nimoy is soaring among the stars (for REAL this time) and enjoying the transition to his next mission. Godspeed, “Mr. Spock”. May you live long and prosper!

    Thank you, Joanna!

    Stargazer

  3. This is a wonderful memorial to “Mr. Spock”. May we all live long and prosper! Hugs, Barbara

  4. Thank you, Barbara. There’s so much to remember him for. Thanks for the re-blog! Hugs back!

  5. A very nice tribute to Leonard Nimoy. I remember when I was in Nursing school, and in a dorm my first year, that a group of us would gather around the television to watch Star Trek. It is great to see so many posts about Leonard Nimoy in the newpapers and on various websites.

    • I can just imagine the nursing students gathered around wondering if they’d ever use something like a medical tri-corder or if they or their great granddaughters would have to wear those short skirts like Nurse Chapel. Thankfully we are moving away from the short skirts as uniforms to more options, like scrubs!

      • Where I went to school we were right in the middle of the women’s liberation movement. Nurses were wearing pants, scrubs and we debated if we would ever wear our caps. Our caps looked like graduation caps. Our Nursing program wanted us to be leaders.

  6. I’m grateful that Leonard Nimoy and his Spock had such longevity, reaching into the new Star Trek movies, where Nimoy appeared as an older Spock interacting with Zachary Quinto as a young Spock. I especially appreciated the dual heritage of Spock as Vulcan and human, representing the interplay of logic/reason and emotion with which we all deal.

  7. Yes. Spock showing that coping with emotions was not always easy was helpful. Maybe seeing him meditate planted a seed for me. Thanks for pointing out about the dual heritage challenge. Start Trek did a great job of presenting the interplay of diverse cultures struggling to work through and appreciate their differences. It was realistic in that things didn’t always work out peacefully, but as I recall, the enterprise crew aimed for peaceful resolutions when possible.

  8. He was an insightful man. As interesting as the characters he played.

Feel free to comment!

