Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Maybe I wasn’t a Pushover After All

Leave a comment

Letting your teenager’s friend move in isn’t always the right decision. But sometimes it turns out to be a good thing.

Loving Me, Too

Heart above fairy face

When my son was a teenager, I let one of his friends move into the tiny room that was once a side porch. It was after my first husband left, and there was a big empty space in my broken heart. Maybe I felt like adding another family member would help. The more, the merrier.

She was a senior in high school and not getting along with her mother. I don’t remember all the details, but I understood the challenges of raising a teenager, and that sometimes it’s easier to live with someone who is not family. Her mother wrote me a nice note, thanking me for taking her daughter in.

Over the years,  I’ve been critical of myself during that time. I thought I was being a pushover, letting my son’s friend move in. But she really was just a friend, and she wasn’t any trouble at all. When…

View original post 145 more words

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

Feel free to comment!

