Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Dreaming Big

10 Comments

Elephant

In a recent dream, I admired the painted steps at a park. The artist had started with a yellow background, then added all sorts of animals: polar bears, lions, and there must have been elephants there too, with colorful flag-like tapestries draped on their backs. I sat on the steps and studied the design thinking,

I could do art like this…..if I had the time.

At least a dozen times, I’ve gone to an art show, or gallery, and said that same line to myself? If I only had the time….

A couple nights later I dreamed about trying to encourage an elephant into my dad’s backyard. It wasn’t working, so I woke up, thinking this was about trying to get Dad to move closer to where I live.

The next night, I was reading, A Second Look at Jesus, written by my friend John Evans. In chapter 5, “Meeting the Guru,” I discovered the following passage:

“Maharishi said that inviting God into our life was akin to inviting an elephant into our modest hut.The inevitable result was a certain amount of destruction. Then it was necessary to build a larger and stronger structure. This process of destruction and reconstruction continued over time until a vast palace was constructed and the elephant was in a properly proportioned and durable environment.”

The destruction that took place in my life at the beginning of this century – from divorce, loneliness, and trying to love the wrong people – was necessary to make room for God to fitΒ  into my life in a bigger way, to make room for new surprises and new directions.

Sometimes we need to knock down walls to make room for something even better.

But knocking down walls can be scary. Can I just add on another room?

Or maybe knocking down walls could be fun and exciting.

I aim to find out.

 

The elephant photo is from http://pixabay.com/

 

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

10 thoughts on “Dreaming Big

  1. Well there’re some synchronicities!! Elephants, indeed! How often do those crop up in your life (unless you live in the Serengeti) ?. πŸ™‚

    Stargazer

  2. Thank you for visiting and for the re-blog!

  3. Sounds like I could have written this myself. Nice post. πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you for the affirmation! It’s good to know we are not alone πŸ™‚

  5. I love the analogy of the elephant and the hut. There’s a bit of remodeling going on with my own hut at the moment, and, yes, it’s scary and confusing.
    “Can I just add on another room?” πŸ˜€ If only.

  6. It would be nice it we could do the remodeling peacefully, a little at a time, and sometimes we can. But then there are those more dramatic moments when we just need to hang on to our hats! Best wishes in your remodeling adventures, Sarah. Thanks for commenting. πŸ™‚

Feel free to comment!

