Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Hunger: Seeking to Fill the Void

Leave a comment

I didn’t want to believe that I was using food to cope with my feelings. But the moodiness, when I stopped eating compulsively, made it obvious. Thankfully, we can learn other ways to cope.

Loving Me, Too

Pie with lattice crust

With the start cooler weather, and holidays on the horizon, I’ve caught myself getting excited about pie. Warm home made pie filled with healthy fruit or pumpkin with lots of cinnamon. But I have to be careful. Eating more than is good for me has been an issue off and on since adolescence. In the early 90’s I lost over 70 pounds with diet and exercise and a spiritual program. You know, the kind with steps. It worked like nothing else ever had. I guess I was ready. The first couple months I followed my food plan I was moody, almost depressed, confirming that I really had been using food to deal with my feelings. I think it was the spirituality that helped fill the void. A power greater than myself helped me meet my goal to eat only nutrient dense foods (no empty calories like soda, candy and alcohol.)

View original post 466 more words

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

Feel free to comment!

