Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Re-blogging about Very Hard Things

2 Comments

Sometimes computers are hard for me. Or maybe it’s just my I phone. When I tried to re-blog this post with my phone, other random post parts jumped in uninvited.  I deleted the post, and now, I’m starting over on the lap top.  But it says I already re-blogged the post. Oh Well, there’s always a way.

http://tonningsen.wordpress.com/2014/09/14/very-hard-things/comment-page-1/#comment-6973

I like the post from Eric Tonningsen’s blog because it gives three clear suggestions to help make coping with very hard things possible.

Like in January when I put my Golden Retriever, Jesse,  “to sleep.” I had no idea when I started to re-blog Eric’s post that I’d get to process some of this grief again, but that’s how grief is sometimes.

https://joannaoftheforest.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/ill-see-you-on-the-other-side/

I used Eric’s suggestions then and now.

I found, and still find, beauty in the memories of  our life together, Jesse’s protectiveness, and how he loved to swim.

I let family help me but asking my husband to carry some of the weight (figuratively and literally carrying Jesse when he couldn’t walk) and calling my father on the phone from the vet’s office to pray with us.

I had compassion for myself, reminding myself of all that I’d done to try to make Jesse comfortable, and that I would get through saying goodbye to him. I feel sad remembering this now, but after nine months, it has gotten easier: the waves of sadness do not come as often and they’re not as intense. (Deep breath.)

I would just like to add that, in my experience, God can help too. When I don’t feel like I have the strength to get through something, I ask:

“God help me, get through this,”

Courage comes to me from a power greater than myself.

I know I am never alone.

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “Re-blogging about Very Hard Things

  1. I love the idea of finding beauty in the memories. The memories I have with my daughter were brief, but I will cherish them forever.

    • It’s not easy, but the beauty is there. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, so that I could have the privilege of finding you and reading about your daughter, your faith and your courage. My mother collected angels until she died a few years ago. I feel her telling me that Isabelle is a most beautiful and sweet angel.

Feel free to comment!

