Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

JoAnne Silvia on a Blog Tour!

Leave a comment

Boone Hillside

Path on a hillside in Boone, NC, by JoAnne Silvia

I get to be in a Blog Tour! This opportunity comes from my Online Writing Community via Andilit on Facebook. First I had to find out what a blog tour is. It doesn’t sound too hard. I copy, then answer the questions below and then tag other bloggers. So here goes!

“Upon what are you working?”

My biggest project, the thing that finally got me to pursue writing, is the memoir: Perfect Timing, Lessons in Love, Faith and Perseverance. It’s the story of two young lives coming together in the early 1970’s and being separated (against their wills) to learn all those interesting, and sometimes painful, life lessons they had to learn to be ready to meet again. David and I had no idea we would be reunited, after 39 years of no contact, in a way that confirms there are no coincidences.

        God and the universe are working with us to create our best possible lives.

I’m also writing for Wilmington Faith and Values (http://wilmingtonfavs.com/) which provided the inspiration to interview otherwise homeless men living in at The Rescue Mission of the Cape Fear, and I’m currently working on a couple of magazine articles.

“How does your work differ from others in the genre?”

I’m so glad you asked! Perfect Timing is actually two memoirs in one. David and I alternate chapters, each telling about our separate, yet often parallel journeys. It has sometimes been a challenging process, but we are growing into it. David, being a to-the-point, “no fluff,” recovering workaholic, put down the facts in his chapters. As I’ve learned more about creative writing, I’ve taken to interviewing him for more details and feelings (the stuff I keep getting asked for by my writing community.) I believe it’s been therapeutic. We’ve certainly learned a lot about each other in this process.

“Why do your write what you write?”

I write to inspire others. I want to give hope. There were some very dark moments in my life relating to divorce and unhealthy rebound relationships.  I want people to know this: Your future can be even better than you’ve imagined, if you work on yourself, believe and never give up.  David and I are encouraged to write our story every time we tell the short version and people say things like: “I just got goosebumps, hearing that!”

“How does your writing process work?”

Fridays are my writing days. I’m so thankful to have been able to cut back my job of 26 years as a  substance abuse counselor to 32 hours a week so I can live my new passion on Fridays. I do write at other times, usually in the evenings, but I have to be careful. I’ve discovered writing can be addictive for me. Being a night owl by nature, I have found myself typing away until the wee hours, and I need to be at work by 8:30 am.  Keeping a notebook handy, and slips of re-purposed scrap paper in my purse, car and bedroom help me jot down ideas as they come. That’s my low tech way of having fun. It’s messy, but I like the individual pieces of paper, because I can just throw them away after I’ve put them in the computer.

Recreating foggy old memories had been a challenge. I’ve emailed high school girlfriends for help which is a blast. We each remember different pieces. Interviewing David’s mother and my father has created some interesting revelations and off shoots for future projects, maybe even novels. So many stories!

Now to pass along the tag: Andi at http://www.andilit.com/, Suzanne at http://coffeesnob318.wordpress.com/, Jennifer at http://mercurialforte.wordpress.com/ http://dougdoeslife.com/

Let me know if you want to be tagged!

 

Author: JoAnna

I'm an open minded, tree-hugging Christian who loves creation. After 30 years as a substance abuse counselor, I'm returning to my creative roots, painting angels, and writing a memoir about love, faith and perseverance, and how I learned that there are no coincidences.

Feel free to comment!

