Anything is Possible!

With Hope, Faith, and Perseverance

Heaven on Earth

7 Comments

“Surrounded by Your Glory, What will my heart Feel? Will I dance for You Jesus, or in awe of You be still?” (Mercy Me)

I’ve always loved singing Mercy Me’s song, “I Can Only Imagine.”  The song’s gentle melodies flow into powerful praise. Singing this a couple days ago, with spring finally here, I suddenly became aware of a new perspective: I  am  surrounded by God’s glory here on earth. I have been awed by golden sunsets and stilled by the vastness of the ocean. I’ve and danced with joy in the light of the full moon and fallen to my knees in the forest, breathig the breath of the earth.

It sounds a bit pagan doesn’t it? Yet, I am a Christian who loves Creation- like Saint Francis who praised brother sun and sister moon and preached to the birds and tamed a wolf with love- a bridge if you will, for those of us who love the earth and love Jesus, for those who see and feel God in nature.

If we are to honor God, we are called to care for, respect and nurture all of God’s Creation.

Pearly gates and streets of gold have never excited me. When I imagine meeting Jesus, I imagine a natural setting. Jesus lived outdoors much of the time. He spent a lot of time in simple dwellings close to the earth.  Jesus went alone into the wilderness to be close to God, to restore his spirit.  Heaven, for me, will hopefully be full of wonderful wilderness.  We can imagine heaven, and we can open our eyes and our ears and our hearts to heaven on earth

Creek w david and dogs

What do you imagine heaven to be like?

When or where have you experienced heaven on earth?

 

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

7 thoughts on “Heaven on Earth

  1. That is a great song!

    It is true that St. Francis saw that all of God’s good creation was doing what it was created to do-to praise God. Same goes for us!

  2. I love that song, I can only imagine! I’m sure when we all get to heaven we will be amazed at things beyond our imagination! I love nature too, and I’m sure heaven will be full of wonderful trees and flowers and creatures, unlike anything we’ve ever seen before! I can only imagine…

    • I love your vision of heaven, Beth! You know, that makes me think about how I’ve read dogs can’t see all the colors we can. Maybe there are even more colors in heaven that we’ve never seen before. Now that takes some imagination! But I know our Creator could do it. Thanks!

  3. SUMMER NIGHT
    By: Patricia Salamone

    The blistering summer sun
    gives way to the night.
    I can smell the honey suckle
    and gardenia wafting in the night air.
    The heavens open up and the stars
    make their appearance.
    The nightingale croons its’ song to me.
    The crickets join the chorus.
    The grass is cool beneath my feet
    the hustle and bustle of the hot summer
    day gives way to the heavens above.
    I look up and the moon smiles at me.

    Hope you enjoyed this. :o)

  4. Oh, yes! It reminds me of how much I love the smell of honeysuckle and gardenia…. and the delightful gift of moon smiles! Thank you, Patricia! 🙂

Feel free to comment!

