Anything is Possible!

With Faith, Hope and Perseverance

Looking for a Happy Medium in the Media

6 Comments

Sailboat in November

I declare independence from the mainstream news media! Having become so overwhelmed by the bombardment of negative news stories, I hardly ever watch the morning news anymore. Or the evening news. It used to be a habit, part of my routine. I was afraid I’d miss something. But I’ve had enough of alleged murderers and corporate criminals getting center stage as reporters speculate ad nauseam about all the possible legal strategies that could be employed. I’ve had enough of “reporters” airing the dirty laundry of high-profile celebrities like it’s everybody’s business. My time is too precious to wait for the positive news stories that might or might not appear in the last 5 minutes of the show.   Sometimes I skim the headlines, or try to catch Jon Stewart because, at least he makes me laugh, but for the most part, I ask family members to let me know if there is anything going on in the news I need to know about. I appreciated my daughter telling me the other night, “Hey, there’s a woman from Texas, doing a filibuster about abortion and you can watch it live!”  I watched it until midnight when I realized that Texas was in a different time zone.

I know we need to know what’s going on in the world, I’m just looking for some balance. I  don’t think it’s healthy to have so much focus on the bad news. They say, “that’s what sells.” But I don’t buy it!  The last time I remember extensive coverage of good news was when Chesley Sullenberger landed a plane on the Hudson River and everybody lived. But does anybody remember the name of his copilot?  It was Jeff Skiles. And he did lots of important copilot stuff.  I appreciate seeing how people help each other in natural disasters. That’s finding good news within the bad. But we need more coverage of the good news. What do you think is the ratio of negative to positive news stories? It seems like 90% of the time (or space) is devoted to negative news. Is that because the world is such a horrible place?  Or is that how the picture is being painted for us?

What we focus on, gets bigger. I worry that the predominance of bad news creates more bad news. Being bombarded by negative news can warp our collective minds.  It’s like Dr. Emoto’s water crystals that are warped or don’t even form at all when subjected to negative words. The water that is subjected to words like love and gratitude form beautiful symmetrical crystals.  Dr. Emoto writes that the average human body is 70% water. What are all those negative words and images doing the water in our bodies?

Sure we have a lot of problems, but there’s a lot of good work happening. There is a lot of love and beauty. People help each other. There are plenty of heroes among us. These are the stories we need to pay more attention to and give power to. This, I believe will make our country stronger. If I’ve missed any good news lately, please feel free to share!

Author: JoAnna

An open minded, tree-hugging Christian, former counselor, and life-long lover of animals, I'm returning to my creative roots and have published my first book: Trust the Timing, A Memoir of Finding Love Again, available at amazon.com.

6 thoughts on “Looking for a Happy Medium in the Media

  1. I agree! I quit watching the news years ago! I needed to get all yhe negativity out of my consciousness!

  2. I too gave up watching mainstream media and am just about ready to give up cable. I encourage you to watch Awakenvideo.org There is so much good going on in the world but the media is attempting to fill everyone with fear which make us pliable and helpless. Yikes, I focus on love and the good in the world and send love and compassion to those that would have us believe otherwise.

  3. Thanks for the tip, Pamster! I’ll check it out.

  4. Congratulations, and join the minority! 🙂 Just as we must be conscious of what we put into our bodies, we must also be cognizant of what enters our minds. I have hardly ever watched the news throughout my entire life, except during events of extreme crisis for those very reasons. Yet observe for yourself how your psyche lightens as you attune to more positive things. Here’s a link to positive news http://positivenews.org.uk/. And Here’s another lovely image link I encountered on twitter as a counter image to all the negative ones currently presented in the Egypt crisis. https://twitter.com/WillMcHoebag/status/368744018693222401/photo/1

  5. Thank you, Natalie. I appreciate the links!

Feel free to comment!

